Training recap week #8

trainingweek8

Week: 8/16

Runs: 4

Miles: 27.9

Legs: Ouch!

Mood: Thoughtful

And that was week 8! I’m now half way through my marathon training plan. Half way! Half. Way. HALF! WAY!

Okay, so that is a little* scary. But I’ve no reason to think I’m not on target – I completed all my workouts with some degree of success, and as I write this (it’s Tuesday lunchtime) I’m not too terribly stiff or sore in the leg department. Several really quite significant things happened this week, so I’ll take them one by one.

  1. I did my longest EVER run! Fourteen miles. Okay so it’s not a lot further than the 13.1 distance I’ve covered several times before, but psychologically it’s a pretty big deal, as my anxiety means that I feel the fear of the unknown more than most! Last week I would have told you that I couldn’t have gone further than 12 miles, and this week I could tell you that I couldn’t have gone further than 14. But I’m working on changing that thinking a bit. I think it’s more helpful and less scary to say “I don’t know if I could have gone further, but I’m looking forward to giving it a go next week” than “Nope, no way, nuh-uh, no! I was DONE.” Although to be frank, that second one is a lot closer to what went through my head at the end of 14 miles!
  2. My fundraising received a HUGE boost from Matt’s colleagues. I am humbled and overwhelmed by their generosity. Matt said some of them even chose to share their own, or their loved ones’, stories of mental health issues with him when he asked if they’d be willing to sponsor me. I think it’s incredible how the conversation can flow if someone is brave enough to start it. That’s the main reason why I’m doing this.
  3. I had another tempo run where I had to shake off the doubt instilled in me by looking into the runner’s crystal ball of negativity (which I’m going to talk about more in another post) and managed to completely smash it! I had to do 2 times 12 minutes at tempo pace with a 3 minute rest in between. For the first I held a 8:38 pace, and the second 8:57, and I am thrilled! I had pretty much given up on the idea of aiming for a 9:10 pace for the Bath Half in a couple of weeks, but now I’m thinking I might not be as far off as I thought. On Tempo Friday this week I have to hold a tempo pace for a solid 20 minutes, and I’m going to see how close to 8:30 I can stay!

wp-1488285913045.jpg

wp-1488285926223.png

Storm Doris gave great post-run hair!

I wish that I could say I was feeling totally capable and positive about the coming weeks! But, of course it wouldn’t be true. I am very proud of myself, and my body feels stronger than ever. But the unknown is scary, and I can’t deny that I’m tired and hungry a lot of the time, which is very draining and lowers my mood quite a bit. But, I am determined, I know I’m much loved and supported, and I’m not giving up. Let’s go, week 9!

*This is totally true. At least it is if I redefine “a little” to mean “a whole damn lot”…

I’m running the 2017 London Marathon for Mind, the mental health charity.
If you’d like to sponsor me please go to my fundraising page here!

Leave a Reply

