Training recap week #7

trainingweek7

Week: 7/16

Runs: 4

Miles: 23.9

Legs: A little tired and sore

Mood: I am runner, hear me roar!

Tearful outbursts: 0.5* 

Week 7 is done! Yeah!20170220_203833.jpg20170220_204141.jpg

I was dreading this week a bit as I knew I’d be really busy at work and wasn’t sure how I was going to fit in all the runs I needed to do. But in the end, it got done. I even managed two before-work runs which is a pretty big deal for this definitely-not-a-morning person! I had short tempo intervals on Wednesday morning, which was fine, but I underestimated the length of the route, had to dash the last mile and missed breakfast, which meant that come coffee break time I was off to Costa like a bat out of hell!

Friday was a couple of 8 minute tempo repeats, and for the first time I kind of understood what it’s like to not let yourself back off when things get a little tough. I know 8 minutes might not seem that long, and I have run faster for longer in the past, but where I’m at right now, holding 8:56 pace for 8 minutes was hard. I managed to partially detach the part of me that was thinking and feeling pain from the parts that were keeping me moving, and a silent mantra of “I can and I will” got me through. It was a tiny bit of a breakthrough to notice that my desire to keep my legs moving could override my brain going “ugh, slow down”…

Sunday was actually my longest training run ever! Although I’ve run several half marathons I haven’t ever done more than 10 miles in training, and I’ve got to be honest, it hurt. Why? Well, here’s the elevation profile:

screenshot_20170219-164123.png

Yeah. That last section was not pleasant on tired legs! (*This is where the half-a-breakdown happened. I panicked a little, shouting at Matt “I can’t, I can’t” but he wouldn’t let me have a full-on meltdown! He just kept telling me that I had more in the tank than I thought, and even made me pick up the pace for the last few yards for a mini sprint finish. I love that man!) It’s funny how the body can do things that the mind doesn’t think it can. Maybe that’s the theme for this week!

Next week’s long run will officially be the furthest I’ve ever run – 14 miles! Matt and I have the route all planned out and I’m looking forward to it. It feels like a particularly scary thing to do, to go further than ever before! But once I’ve done it, what’s to stop me from doing it again? Bring it on, week 8!

 

I’m running the 2017 London Marathon for Mind, the mental health charity.
If you’d like to sponsor me please go to my fundraising page here!

Leave a Reply

