Training recap week #6

trainingweek6

Week: 6/16

Runs: 4

Miles: 23.5

Legs: Powerful

Mood: Buoyant (and chilly!) 

Boom! Week 6 in the bag! I don’t have anything at all negative to say this week. I did all my runs (although I did move Wednesday night’s to Thursday morning), battled my way through 8 “sprint” repeats (a lot of mental gymnastics was involved in that one – after the first fast 60 seconds there was no way I was doing 7 more, but somehow 1 became 2, became 4, became 7…), and did my first double-digit run of the year.

wp-1486919233417.jpgOne thing I did struggle with was the short intervals. It was okay on Thursday with 60 second repeats, I just stayed pretty much glued to my watch. But on Friday I was supposed to be doing 5 minute tempo repeats, but I couldn’t pay enough attention to the watch as I was running on unfamiliar roads. So for wp-1486919270821.jpgthat reason and because of failing battery power I have ordered a replacement for my old Garmin Forerunner 15. I went for the Forerunner 235 because I like the round face and the colourful options for the strap. This combined with a new pair of shoes (I want to alternate with my old ones so they’re good and worn in by April!) my bank balance is suffering a little this week! But… new toys! 🙂

I’m ready to square up to week 7!

I’m running the 2017 London Marathon for Mind, the mental health charity.
If you’d like to sponsor me please go to my fundraising page here!

Leave a Reply

