Training recap week #3

trainingweek3

Week: 3/16

Runs: 4

Miles: 19.14

Legs: Bruised and battered

Mood: Fearful

Scraped knees: 3

Tearful outbursts: 1

Week 3 is over, and I am very glad to see the back of it. I completed all the runs on my plan this week, even managing to keep to a 10 min/mile pace for a couple of sessions. But overall I am feeling a bit negative and afraid of what the coming weeks will bring. Can I really become a marathoner?

First, my body is shouting at me pretty loudly tonight, as I’ve managed to fall over my Friday and Sunday runs. On Friday I tried to really test my speed on a popular Strava segment, and then really struggled to get my breath back and find enough energy to finish the run. Whilst running tired I failed to pick my feet up, and went flying. I landed on a patch of rutted frozen mud, and bashed both elbows, both knees, both palms and all down the outside of my left thigh. Ouch. I managed to talk myself into completing the intended number of minutes, so there’s that… On Sunday, 20 minutes in to an 80 minute session, I tripped on a drain cover (Coach Matt tells me I veer to the left and so basically run myself into the rough edges of the pavement… sigh…) and hit the ground again. Scraped knee #3.It was around then that the tears happened!

But, attempting to look on the bright side, I completed all my runs and felt relatively okay during them. We even managed a couple of 4ish mile walks over the weekend to make the most of the beautiful sunshine. According to my Fitbit I’d done nearly 27,000 steps come Sunday bedtime!

I hope week 4 is kinder to me…

I’m running the 2017 London Marathon for Mind, the mental health charity.
If you’d like to sponsor me please go to my fundraising page here!

Leave a Reply

