Training recap week #2

trainingweek2

Week: 2/16

Runs: 4

Miles: 17.5

Legs: Somewhat stronger

Mood: Determined

Week 2 is done and dusted! I’ve had a few up and downs this week, with my legs feeling much stronger at times, but one session that I nearly quit halfway through. I’ve had a bit of pain in my right shin as well, so I’ve been concentrating on recovery, doing lots of stretching and strengthening exercises. And I’ve been reacquainted with my foam roller (ouch!).

My long run on Sunday was one of those runs that just feel amazing. Matt came with me on his bike, and rode alongside the whole way. It was great to have someone to talk to (at least after mile 3 and I’d settled into the rhythm!) and the fact that he was willing to ride around for an hour in the rain made my heart feel very full, and I’m more grateful than I can adequately express.

Wednesday’s run was supposed to be “steady” pace. As my plan explains, this is the pace that requires 10-20% more effort than “easy”. I find it very difficult to assess my effort levels, especially in shorter runs where I don’t ever really feel like I’ve got into the swing of things. So I paced it by just pushing a little more than what felt like minimum, and didn’t worry too much about the actual speed! And then on Friday, for some reason I felt like I was flying, and I completed the same distance in the same time, but without having to put in nearly as much effort! As I go further with the training journey I hope I’ll start to figure out what makes different runs different, and learn a lot about myself as a runner!

Bring on week 3!

I’m running the 2017 London Marathon for Mind, the mental health charity.
If you’d like to sponsor me please go to my fundraising page here!

Leave a Reply

