Running Anecdotes

So the festive season is over for another year, and I’ll be heading back to work tomorrow. For me the turning of the year is a double-whammy of celebrations because my birthday is on January 1st, and right now I’m feeling extremely loved, relaxed, well-fed, and overwhelmed with the generosity of my family and friends who have spoiled me with so many lovely gifts!

I’m feeling a bit anxious about returning to work, and some of the familiar weasel-y (read: unhelpfully negative) thoughts about my abilities and the length of my to-do list are fluttering in the background. But what is most astonishing to me is the vast change in how I feel compared with this time last year, which was a dark time, even with my 30th birthday party to look forward to. I am determined to keep tight hold of the positive energy and momentum I’m feeling right now!

I have two little running-related anecdotes (runecdotes?) to share today.

wp-1483464613535.jpgThe first is actually from Christmas Eve, when Matt and I went out for an early (ish) jog around the park, wearing matching Santa hats and with a plan to wish everyone we met a merry Christmas! I was incredibly excited by the number of people we saw, even having a couple of beeps from passing cars, and it was a great way to start the day. As we were about to leave the park we passed the play area and noticed that it was empty. Now this play area is only a few months old and it is absolutely awesome. We (and many of our adult friends, too) have been wanting an opportunity to have a play since the summer, so obviously we jumped at the chance! We rode the slides, I bounced on the trampoline while giggling madly, and we raced each other on the zipwires. If there is a better way to end a run, or indeed to start Christmas, I don’t know what it is!

wp-1483464722277.jpg

The second is from this afternoon. I went out for my first run of 2017, just a short easy jog around the block. I was struck (for the umpteenth time) by how getting out and running provides me with the opportunity to appreciate the beauty of the world around me.

Today’s run was actually the first official training run for something rather exciting, which I will talk more about in a couple of days!

Leave a Reply

